Celluloid Diaries: Scariest Story Ever

Tuesday, June 22, 2010

Scariest Story Ever

scariest story ever

Drowned Sorrow is now available on Amazon Kindle. It had already been released in paperback earlier this year. The words creepy and scary come back in almost every review of the book. Sword and Magic even called it "the scariest story of the year."



About Drowned Sorrow

Why do the shops and bars in Moonlight Creek sell nothing but water? Why do the inhabitants commit eerie murders when it rains? What are the white phantom-like creatures that move through the local lake? A mother and her teenage daughter are about to discover the secret of Moonlight Creek, but by the time they realize they are in danger, it may be too late to escape.


This is what reviewers and authors have to say about Drowned Sorrow:

"Vanessa Morgan has the gift of pacing and spookiness" - Scott Nicholson, author of They Hunger and The Farm

"A startling new voice in horror" - Lucky McKee, director of May and The Woods

"Drowned Sorrow is definitely creepy. Possibly even crawly. I wouldn't sleep in the same room with it" - SP Review

"An original twist to small-town ghost stories" - Target Audience Magazine

"The scariest story of the year" - Sword and Magic

"A racy thriller in the vein of Dean Koontz and John Saul" - Dirk Vandereyken, author of Baour and Fates Worse Than Death

"The female version of Stephen King" - Pedro Chaves, director of Reiki

"A good, creepy story" - The Horror Fiction Review

"Increasingly creepy atmosphere" - Monster Librarian

"One of the scariest books you'll ever read" - Infonu

"A gripping horror novel" - Crystal's Book Reviews


WHAT DO YOU THINK IS THE SCARIEST STORY EVER? It may be a novel or a movie or even a true story you have heard somewhere. Let me know in the comment section below. 

22 comments:

  1. scariest movie and book; twilight saga. because of the jacked up following and horrible adaptation to film and all of the corrupted young minds it polluted the world with.
    Nothing is scarier than a bunch of tweens screaming for a closet pedophile discoball and his constipated stick in the mud love interest. that is the scariest shit i have ever seen.

    ooh and darkness falls, that shit scared the hell out of me.

    ReplyDelete
  2. The scariest book I've ever read has to be Stephen King's The Stand. I think it was so scary to me because I've never read a King book that no matter how off the wall it may be, he made it seem possible.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I am a movieman, so I found myself scared and sweating in the chair of the theatre by the following movies (in random order):

    Halloween (original)
    The Hills Have Eyes
    Dawn of the Dead
    À l'intérieur
    Haute Tension
    Martyrs
    Frontière(s)

    Grtzz
    Steve

    ReplyDelete
  4. The Shining and It are the scariest books i've read, and then there was "Het Kleine Huis" (The little house) a Belgian book about an evil priest who murdered his brothers and sisters by drowning them in a poop-well (I don't know the translation, and chose not to look it up on the net cuz it sounds too funny like this) The priest then becomes a slave to the devil, wearing a white cassock with a black collar. It scared the $ù*£% out of me...After a while I discovered the author was actually from my hometown !
    And yes it is true, I've only read 3 books in my life.
    Bruno Serra

    ReplyDelete
  5. I hardly ever read fictional novels, so I'll stick to movies as well.

    Although I'm only a lukewarm Horror genre lover, the following movies did sent chills down my spine at various moments in my lifetime (in random order):

    The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (original)
    The Exorcist
    The Shining
    Arachnophobia
    The Silence of the Lambs
    Dawn of the Dead (remake)
    The Hills Have Eyes (remake)
    Shutter Island

    ReplyDelete
  6. I hardly read books, but I'll do a contribution for movies:

    The Ring
    The Grudge
    Anti-Christ
    The Exorcist
    Aliens
    Saw
    Cloverfield

    ReplyDelete
  7. I'm not often scared by movies, though The Exorcist scared by moments. Dark water too. And The audition.

    The best way to scare people is to build up tension I think. And that's the way to do it in novels too.

    In my personal life, I was scared a few times, for example when I jumped out of a plane (even with a parachute ). I remember also one crazy car ride in the Montenegro mountains with a Belgian friend who drove like a rally driver. Strangely enough, I was not scared when I was put in jale in the US after not paying a speeding ticket

    Piet

    ReplyDelete
  8. When I was young I had a lot of most scary movies aka stories :) hellraiser, death machine, the thing, evil dead (2), alien, arachnophobia, nightmare on elm street, IT, pet cemetary, ppl under the stairs, ..
    These days i look more for the blood & gore ;)
    REC 1 & 2, martyrs, a l'interieur, haute tension, ..
    but other scary stories for me surely include animals.. like Cujo, Link, Man's best friend, ..

    ReplyDelete
  9. Personally, I think the original 'Omen' used to be the benchmark by which truly scary movies were judged. It looks a little old now, but it's still a very very ominous picture. Other favorites include 'The Thing', 'Alien', the first 'Ringu' and of course the Spanish '[REC]'.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Haute Tension, Audition, The Thing, Martyrs, The Abandoned, Eden Laken REC

    And when I was young,hellraiser en nightmare on elm street : )
    Wich are now hilarious!

    ReplyDelete
  11. As a kid... Evil Dead 1, Poltergeist, Jaws, The Thing, Mad Max 1 & 2. That's it really.

    As for books, they don't scare me easily, but Drowned Sorrow was really creepy.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Some of the scariest novels ever written are:

    - Come Closer – Sara Gran (woman getting posessed by a demon)
    - The Coma – Alex Garland (not scary, but strange; it makes you think about it after it’s over)
    - Drowned Sorrow – Vanessa Morgan (extremely scary, water being alive and killing people on purpose)
    - Salem’s Lot – Stephen King (scariest vampire story ever – I heard that The Traveling Vampire Show by Richard Laymon is scary too, but I haven’t read it)
    - American Psycho – Bret Easton Ellis (not really scary, buyt it churned my stomach)
    - Off Season – Jack Ketchum (same as with American Psycho, stomach churning but not scary)
    - Ghost Story – Peter Straub (creeped me out)

    ReplyDelete
  13. I find it a lot more difficult to be scared by a novel than by a movie. I think a movie is a more direct, visceral experience. But one particularly effective short story from my youth I still remember, although I have no idea anymore who the author was or what his collection of short stories was called.

    The story deals with a scientist waking up in a bed after a car accident or something. He is paralysed and constantly tries to get his colleagues to give him more details about his condition. The twist of the story is that they have transplanted his brain or his brain patterns I presume, into the head of a lab rat and have even managed to give him the ability to speak. This reveal made me go back to a previous scene in the story in which the scientist is talking to a female colleague with whom he has a relationship. I realized that from her point of view, she had been looking at a her former lover, now a talking rat, squaking his undying love for her.

    Yeah, that one stays with me...

    ReplyDelete
  14. The Grudge
    The Exorcist
    Halloween (original one)
    Hellraiser
    Alien

    Kabouter Wesley

    ReplyDelete
  15. "The Ring" for creepy fun. There's also an old movie from 1961 named "The Innocents" which was loosely based on "The Turn of the Screw" by Henry James. Seeing it as a teen inspired me to begin researching ghosts and spirits which lead 20 years ago to me becoming a Ghost Investigator.

    ReplyDelete
  16. Martyrs - à voir une fois, mais pas deux!!!!!

    ReplyDelete
  17. The Wizard of Oz - Not the flying monkeys, but the witch in the window changing from bicycle to broomstick, and her cackle
    I Saw What You Did and I Know Who You Are - Joan Crawford near the end of her career
    The Pit and the Pendulum - Vincent Price
    The Birds - Hitchcock
    Psycho - ditto
    Don't Look Now - Sutherland & Christie, a hot love scene as well as moodiness and a jump-out-of-your-skin ending
    The Exorcist - "your mother sews socks that smell"
    Carrie - just the end. Didn't expect that!
    Carnival of Souls - low low LOW budget, made in Kansas
    The Hills Have Eyes - the original. I had to leave the theater.

    Then I stopped going to "scary films" as they all became over-the-top slasher films, and now find the scariest ones to be documentaries. Those are the ones I have trouble shaking off.

    ReplyDelete
  18. The Terror by Dan Simmons. I loved the idea of an historical event going supernatural. Fascinating tale. I was spellbounded and could not tell who was next or what was next.

    If not that one, the Michel Faber's Under the Skin --- makes you rethink eating meat. Glad I am vegetarian.

    And for some reason De Felitta's The Entity had an impact on me.

    ReplyDelete
  19. A few that scared me:

    "Daddy", Steve Rasnic Tem
    "Rats", M.R. James
    "Narrative of the Ghost of a Hand", J.S. LeFanu
    "The Fetch", Robert Aickman
    "The Crown Derby Plate", Marjorie Bowen
    The Shining, Stephen King

    ReplyDelete
  20. I don't like all that blood and gore. I like movies and books to sneak up on you, that’s why Drowned Sorrow was so spooky!

    ReplyDelete
  21. The prom scene in Carrie was absolutely great, but I'd have to go with classic Hitchcock. As a kid, The Birds and Psycho terrified me. BTW, I'm not too crazy about birds now. Coincidence?

    ReplyDelete
  22. Remember reading a novel that made you want to turn on all the lights and hide under your blankets? And although you know it's just a story you cannot shake the unease that suddenly plagues you. That is how I felt while reading DROWNED SORROW by Vanessa Morgan, and yet I did not want to stop, I couldn't, because as the story unfolded before my eyes I only wanted more.

    ReplyDelete